
 
2219 CAREY AVE | CHEYENNE, WY 82002 | PHONE: 307-777-7324 | FAX: 307-777-6593 

WEIGHTS & MEASURES LICENSING INSTRUCTION PAGE 
PLEASE READ PRIOR TO COMPLETING APPLICATION ON PAGE 2. 

 
LICENSING FEES 

 
EVERY PERSON WHO OWNS OR IS RESPONSIBLE FOR WEIGHING OR MEASURING DEVICE SHALL OBTAIN AN ANNUAL 
LICENSE FOR EACH ESTABLISHMENT FROM THE DEPARTMENT AND PAY A FEE AS PROVIDED. LICENSES ARE NOT 
TRANSFERABLE; THEREFORE A CHANGE IN OWNERSHIP WILL REQUIRE A NEW LICENSE APPLICATION & RELEVANT 
PAYMENT. 
 
 
DEFINITION OF DEVICE (in regards to gas stations): A device, by definition, is each grade offered for sale on a pump 
face. (i.e. If you have a gas station and have 4 dispensers, each pump face has Regular, Mid-Grade, Premium, and Diesel. 
That would be 4 devices per pump face, 8 devices per dispenser. Equaling a total of 32 devices for the entire station) For 
the purposes of this application you would have 32 devices, which would be a $75.00 licenses fee.  
 
$25.00 - Twenty-five dollars for establishments with no more than five (5) devices 
$50.00 - Fifty dollars for establishments with more than five (5) and less than eleven (11) devices 
$75.00 - Seventy-five dollars for establishments with eleven (11) or more devices. 
 

PLEASE MAKE CHECKS PAYABLE TO WYOMING DEPARTMENT OF AGRICUTURE  
 
 
 

SPECIAL EVENT LICENSE CATEGORIES 
 

(iv) For special events, twenty-five dollars ($25.00) per individual vendor shall be charged annually. A special events 
license is valid for the duration of the event, whether a day, week or month. The weight, measure, or device used at 
special events must meet the requirements in Wyoming Statutes.  

(a) In lieu of individual vendor licenses, a single event management may purchase an establishment license to cover 
all vendors. The event management is responsible for the weight, measure, or devices used under their license 
which must meet the requirements in Wyoming Statutes. 

 (v) Exemptions. 
(a) State of Wyoming agencies are exempt from the licensing fee.  
(b) Pharmacy scales inspected and tested by the Wyoming State Board of Pharmacy are exempt from the licensing 

fee. 
(c) A Point-of-Sale system which is entirely independent from any weighing or measuring device is exempt from the 

licensing fee.  
Referenced from Chapter 18, Section 9, Page 10.  

(i) “Special event” means a farmer’s market; a local community event; a fair, exposition, or trade show; or other venues 
open to the public for specified limited periods of time. Referenced from Chapter 18, Section 2, Page 1.   
 

http://agriculture.wy.gov/images/stories/pdf/techserv/rules/weightsmeasures.pdf 
https://rules.wyo.gov/Search.aspx 

 
 
 

http://agriculture.wy.gov/images/stories/pdf/techserv/rules/weightsmeasures.pdf
https://rules.wyo.gov/Search.aspx
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OFFICE USE ONLY 
Payment Method: 
_____________________ 
 

Processed Date:  
______________________ 
License Code:  
______________________ 
Establishment Number:  
______________________ 

TECHNICAL SERVICES DIVISION 
WEIGHTS & MEASURES LICENSE APPLICATION 

 

PLEASE:               NEW APPLICATION      or               RENEWAL  
CURRENT ESTABLISHMENT NUMBER (IF RENEWING): ______________ 
 

WHERE WOULD YOU LIKE YOUR LICENSE SENT           LICENSE APPLICANT      or              ESTABLISHMENT 
 

INFORMATION LISTED UNDER LICENSE APPLICANT WILL APPEAR ON PRINTED LICENSE. 
 

LICENSE APPLICANT INFORMATION 
 
NAME: ______________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

LAST                                                                                                                                         FIRST 
 
MAILING ADDRESS: ___________________________________________________________________________________________ 
                                                              STREET                                                                                                                                 CITY                                                  STATE                            ZIP 
 
PHYSICAL ADRESS: ____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
                                                            STREET                                                                                                                                  CITY                                                  STATE                             ZIP 
 
TELEPHONE: (_____) _____ - __________                                                   E-MAIL: ____________________________________________ 
                                                     

ESTABLISHMENT INFORMATION (i.e., company, government agency, etc.) 
 
NAME: ____________________________________BUSINESS CONTACT _________________________________________________                            
                     COMPANY NAME 

MAILING ADDRESS: __________________________________________________________________________________________ 
                                                              STREET                                                                                                                                 CITY                                                  STATE                            ZIP 
 
TELEPHONE: (_____) _____ - __________ E-MAIL: __________________________________________________________________ 
                                                     (###) ### - ####                                                                                                                                                                                                   

CONSENT STATEMENT 
BY SIGNING THIS APPLICATION YOU VERIFY THAT YOU HAVE READ AND UNDERSTAND ALL APPLICABLE WYOMING STANDARDS AND 

REGULATIONS AND AGREE TO ABIDE BY THE LAWS AND REGULATIONS SET FORTH THEREIN. YOU ALSO UNDERSTAND THAT EACH 
SECTION OF THE LAWS AND REGULATIONS IS SEPARATELY AND COLLECTIVELY ENFORCEABLE. 

 INCOMPLETE APPLICATIONS WILL BE MAILED BACK. PLEASE COMPLETE ALL APPLICABLE SECTIONS. 
 
_____________________________________________________________________ _____________    ________________________ 
SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT                                                                                                                                           DATE 
 
_____________________________________________________________________ _____________    ________________________ 
WDA OFFICIAL                                                                                                                                                                 DATE 

 DEVICE COUNTS 
  PLEASE INDICATE THE TYPE OF TYPE OF WEIGHTS & MEASURES LICENSE YOU ARE APPLYING FOR BY SELECTING ONE (OR MORE) OF 

THE BELOW. PLEASE PUT THE NUMBER OF DEVICES IN BOX. PLEASE REFER TO INSTRUCTION PAGE (PG. 1) FOR DEVICE COUNTS. 

TOTAL DEVICES: ____________                                                                            TOTAL FEE APPLIED: ___________________ 
 

# TYPE OF DEVICE # TYPE OF DEVICE 
 SMALL CAPACITY SCALES (0-1000 IBS)  GAS PUMP & LIQUID MEASURING DEVICES 
 MEDIUM CAPICITY SCALES (1001-5000 IBS)  VEHICLE TANK METERS 
 LARGE CAPICITY SCALES (GREATER THAN 5000 IBS)  LIQUEFIED PETROLEUM GAS METERS 
 MINERAL SYSTEM SCALES  REFINED FUEL LOADING RACKS METERS 
 LIVESTOCK SCALES  GRAIN MOISTURE METERS 
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