Citizen     Business     Government     Visitor    

Affiliated Organizations

Banner

Division Spotlight

Banner

Google Apps Sign-On
        Google Apps Sign-On

Home Online Training
Pesticide Applicator Training PDF Print E-mail

Type of Training:

Private

Commercial

Reciprocal


PRIVATE

General Information

A private applicator license applies to any applicator who uses or supervises the use of any restricted use pesticide which is restricted to use by a certified applicators and only for purposes of producing any agricultural commodity on property owned by applicator or their employer or under their control or (is applied without compensation other than trading of personal services between producers of agricultural commodities) on the property of another person.

A private applicator license is valid for no longer than 5 years from the issuing date and all private licenses expire on April 30th of the 5th year after issuance.


Application

The private application can be obtained by visiting one of the approved testing/training locations listed in the link below or by contacting the Wyoming Department of Agriculture.

Testing/Training Locations


Training/Testing

To obtain a private pesticide license you must complete one of three options:

  1. Complete the private pesticide applicators workbook.
  2. Attend an authorized training provided by the Wyoming Department of Agriculture or the University of Wyoming Cooperative Extension Services. (Trainer must sign bottom of application)
  3. Complete the online/paper examination at one of the testing locations.

The workbook can be downloaded below and must be printed, filled out, and returned with your license application

Private Applicator Workbook


Additional Training

Commercial and Private Applicator Right-of-Way Training
Wyoming Department of Agriculture Rules and Regulations
Wyoming State Statutes


More Information

For more information on a private pesticide applicator license please contact your local Cooperative Extension Office, approved testing location or the Wyoming Department of Agriculture.


License Check List

The following items need to be submitted to the Wyoming Department of Agriculture to be issued a license

    • Application
    • Proof of education (One of the following)
      • Workbook
      • Training
      • Exam
    • Power of Attorney (Only for applicators that have out of state addresses, available upon request from the Wyoming Department of Agriculture)


COMMERCIAL

General Information

A commercial applicator license applies to any applicator (whether or not the applicator is a private applicator with respect to some uses) who uses or supervises the use of any pesticide which classified for restricted use for any purpose or on any property other than on property owned by applicator or their employer or under their control or (is applied without compensation other than trading of personal services between producers of agricultural commodities) on the property of another person.

Commercial licenses are only valid for the balance of the year in which the license was obtained plus 24 months and expire on January 31st.


Application

The commercial pesticide applications are only available at approved testing/training locations listed in the link below:

Testing/Training Locations


Training/Testing

Pesticide applicators are not required to attend training before testing. However many materials area available online for you to study for the exam. Click on the following link to access the commercial pesticide training materials.

Pesticide Applicator Training Materials


A new applicator training is also held every year in Mid-December.


December 15-19, 2014

Commercial Pesticide Applicator Short Course: PLNT 1150

Wyoming Union - Union Ballroom
University of Wyoming
Laramie, Wyoming
REGISTRATION ON-LINE ONLY
We also encourage you to purchase a Core Training Manual when you register on-line. The manuals will be mailed to you if ordered 10 days prior to class.

For More Information and to Register - Click Here

PLEASE NOTE: The above course and manual fees do not include $25 licensing fee which is due upon exam completion. (Please make checks or money orders payable to the Wyoming Department of Agriculture for the licensing fee)


January 20-22, 2015

Commercial Pesticide Applicator Re-certification Rendezvous
in conjunction with

WABA Annual Convention

Ramkota Best Western
Casper, Wyoming

Up to 24 CEU's will be available to satisfy license renewal requirements.

For More Information and to Register - Click Here

All applicators applying for a new license are required to complete the online general examination along with all supporting exams for each pesticide category. This exam must be completed in one of the approved Testing/Training locations.


Renewal Applications

Commercial licenses are only valid for the balance of the year in which the license was obtained plus 24 months and expire on January 31st.

To re-certify in order to maintain your license from the Wyoming Department of Agriculture, one of the following requirements must be met:

  1. 24 hours of pesticide related courses or workshop credits obtained during the time in which the license is valid. These credit hours must be validated with an agenda and proof of attendance. The Department determines what coursework applies toward re-certification.
  2. Attendance at the Commercial Applicator Re-certification School held during January in Casper of each year.
  3. Re-take the exams for the categories in which you want to be re-certified.

Renewal Applicant training is held in Mid-January. (24 continuing education units are required within the three year span that a license is current.)


Continuing Education

Frequently Asked Questions:

  1. If you have 24 CEUs and your license does not expire in the coming year, DO NOT submit for a license renewal. You will lose the time between submitting the license renewal and your current expiration date. The Wyoming Department of Agriculture will not add an additional three years to your current expiration date. Regardless of the situation, a Wyoming Pesticide Applicators license will only be good for three years.
  2. If you do not agree with the amount of CEUs that have been awarded to you, we encourage you to dispute it. This can be accomplished by sending proof of attendance (agenda is essential) to the Wyoming Department of Agriculture, Attn: Hank Uhden.

Approved On-Line Training Coursework:

All-Star Professional Training - http://www.allstarce.com
Continuing Education University - http://www.ceuschool.org/
CTN Educational Services - http://www.ctnedu.com
Green Applicator - http://www.greenapplicator.com/cec.asp
Pest Web - http://www.pestweb.com/
Purdue University - https://www.distance.purdue.edu/training/pest/
Washington State University - http://pep.wsu.edu/
Western Farm Press - http://westernfarmpress.com/


The following companies provide online training and education. These have been approved by the Wyoming Department of Agriculture for CEUs.

https://www.distance.purdue.edu/training/pest/
http://pep.wsu.edu/RecertOnline.html
http://www.pestweb.com/
http://www.greenapplicator.com/
http://www.pentonag.com/
http://www.ceuschool.org/
http://www.ctnedu.com
http://westernfarmpress.com/
http://www.allstarce.com

Continuing Education Course Credit Request

For those entities/companies that are interested in requesting their course be approved for CEU credit in Wyoming please follow this link and fill out the request form for credit. CLICK HERE


RECIPROCAL - Commercial Only

General Information

A reciprocal commercial license can be issued to an applicator with a valid license in another state wishing to do business in the State of Wyoming. To receive a reciprocal license from the Wyoming Department of Agriculture, the following requirements must be met:

Mandatory: Letter of verification from the respective state department of agriculture FROM THE STATE IN WHICH YOU RESIDE. The letter should state that you are a licensed applicator in good standing with their agency and include the categories in which you are licensed in.

This letter may be faxed to the Wyoming Department of Agriculture at (307) 777-6593 or mailed to:

Wyoming Department of Agriculture
Attn: Technical Services Division
2219 Carey Avenue
Cheyenne, WY 82002

Please be sure we are also supplied with your primary mailing address.

When we have received this letter from your state department of agriculture, we will send you a packed of documents to complete. The packet will contain the following:

  1. Wyoming Department of Agriculture Pesticide Applicator Application
  2. Power of Attorney Form Note, this form must be notarized
  3. Any other forms, notices, or information you may need

When all the forms have been completed, the following should also be returned with the forms:

  1. $25.00 Licensing Fee (Government employees are exempt from the licensing fee)
  2. A legible copy (front and back) of your currently held pesticide applicators license from the state in which you reside.

To request a letter of good standing be sent to another state please CLICK HERE.

Program and Licensing Contact Information

Scott McDonald
Program Coordinator
scott.mcdonald@wyo.gov
307-777-3502
Fax: 307-777-6593

 

Media Links

Wyoming Department of Agriculture on Twitter

Wyoming Department of Agriculture on YouTube

Wyoming Department of Agriculture on Facebook

You Tube Videos

AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Wyoming Department of Agriculture